Introduction

It is often helpful to send a text message to several recipients at one time. Outbound Messaging provides this capability in a simple interface.

Using Outbound Notifications

License and Permissions

This feature is permissioned based upon the settings under Admin > Contact Points > {selected contact point} > General > Outbound Roles > Send Notifications. Only users in the selected roles will be able to send notifications from the selected contact point. Note that often the Everyone role is added here by default, enabling all users to send notifications until this is changed. It may be useful to add add roles with no queues assigned, strictly to manage Notifications access.

Notifications are billable based upon the contract pricing.

Difference Between Notifications and Conversations

Refer to the Agent Manual - Starting a Conversation section for details on starting a conversation. A notification differs in that:

  • Notifications may be sent to multiple SMS recipients
  • Notifications do not start conversations unless the recipient responds

When to Use

Please consider compliance considerations before sending notifications. Recipients should have agreed to receive (opted-in to) SMS messages from your organization. Outbound notifications are best used when the level of response is unknown.

Example Message: “Our Garage had a power outage today and some trucks may be delayed. Please reply if you require additional information.”

The above message is for general information and invites recipients to engage easily if needed, by replying to the text.

BAD Example: “Our representative is at your address but cannot find an issue. Please contact us.”

This message should be sent via conversation vs. notification because the agent would want to ensure the recipient is contacted and engaged.

Salesforce users may utilize notifications via custom code to send a message to a lead or contact directly within the Salesforce application. These may generate tasks on the associated record. These messages are also visible in the Outbound - History section.

Welcome screen

The Welcome screen offers the user choices to send notifications, view history, and make changes to Topics.

Sending the Message

Click the Outbound button from the toolbar on the top left of the Quiq application, then choose the Send Notifications option.

  • Select the appropriate contact point to send from. Note that not all users will see multiple contact points.
  • Select a topic or add a new one. Topics allow notifications to be grouped and identified separately. Click the Plus icon to add a topic
  • Enter recipient numbers separated by a comma.
  • Enter the text message to send.
  • Note that emojis (if enabled) and snippet content may be used for notification message content.

Long Messages

Messages that exceed the character limit for a single SMS message (160 characters) will be split into the necessary number of messages and a warning will be displayed. The user must either check the warning acknowledgement, or reduce the message size to allow the message to be sent.

When the notification is sent, a confirmation is displayed

Error Messages

If the entered numbers are not valid SMS recipients or the send fails immediately, an error message will be displayed and the problem number is shown.

Viewing History

Notifications sent will all be associated with a topic. The default topic is used until new topics are created and selected. The default topic my not be deactivated. As topics are added and notifications sent, a permanent tally of notifications sent and delivered is maintained on a per topic basis. Select the desired time interval to view results for that interval. The view may be toggled between active and inactive topics.

A more granular view of messages may be had by selecting the View Recent button for each topic. The 1000 most recent messages sent for that topic are displayed, with an indicator showing whether the message was delivered to the specific number. Selecting the single item allows a review of the message sent.

Topic Settings

This screen allows the user to manage Topics, including creating, disabling, and editing topics. Note that the default topic may not be edited or disabled.

  1. Click to toggle between active and disabled topics.
  2. Click the green button to create a new topic.
  3. Click the pencil icon on an existing topic to change the topic label.
  4. Click the dumpster icon to deactivate a topic.

Topics may only be disabled, not deleted. Disabled topics are not available in the send notification dropdown list of topics.

A Topic may be re-activated by switching to disabled topics, and selecting the recycle icon for the topic to be re-activated.